Tennessee, on Monday, announced the six people who will be inducted into the school’s Athletics Hall of Fame next month.

The class is comprised of coach and administrator Doug Dickey, baseball player R.A. Dickey, swimmer Christine Magnuson, administrator Charles A. ‘Gus’ Manning, track and field athlete Tony Parilla and women’s basketball player Candace Parker.

The class of 2019 will be celebrated on the weekend of Oct. 25-26, which coincides with the Vols’ home football game against South Carolina. Tickets for the induction dinner cost $75 and will go on sale next week.

During his six years as football coach from 1964-1969, Doug Dickey led the Vols to a national championship and two SEC titles. He also introduced the checkerboard end zones and the “Power T” logo. He also served as the university’s athletics director from 1985-2003.

R.A. Dickey is the baseball program’s only three-time first-team All-American (1994-96). The knuckleballer was named National Freshman of the Year in 1994 and helped to lead the Vols to the College World Series in 1995. He pitched 15 seasons in the Major Leagues with six teams between 2001 and 2017.

Manning held many roles at Tennessee during his 50 years of service from 1951-2000.

He served as an administrative assistant, publicity director, ticket manager and business manager. From 1960-2016 he co-hosted “The Locker Room” radio show that aired on the Vol Network.

Magnuson was a 23-time All-American and three-time All-SEC performer. In 2008 she won the NCAA title in the 100-yard butterfly and was named the SEC Swimmer of the Year.

Parilla won four NCAA 800-meter run titles, including three outdoors, between 1991-94. He also was a nine-time SEC champion, including all four conference outdoor titles in the 800 during his career. He was a 10-time All-American and was named the 1994 SEC men’s track and field outdoor Athlete of the Year.

Parker is one of six Lady Vols players to have her jersey hung in the rafters of Thompson-Boling Arena. She led Tennessee to back-to-back national championships in 2007 and 2008 and was named NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player both years. The first woman to dunk in an NCAA Tournament game, Parker also is a two-time recipient of the John R. Wooden National Player of the Year award.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.