Kevin Harvick, driver of the No. 4 Jimmy John’s Ford, and Daniel Suarez, driver of the No. 19 ARRIS Toyota, lead the field during the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 19, 2018 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

With $1 million on the line, no championship points to worry about, only 85 laps to negotiate, and the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series’ all-stars on the starting grid, Saturday’s Monster Energy All-Star Race (8 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) has all the elements of being one of the most intense and exciting events of the season.

Motivations to win certainly vary. The race’s all-time winningest driver Jimmie Johnson hasn’t hoisted a trophy since Daytona’s season-opening exhibition, The Clash. The race’s defending winner Kevin Harvick had won five races before All-Star weekend last year but is still looking for his first victory of 2019.

Hendrick Motorsports driver Alex Bowman has finished runner-up in the last three consecutive regular season races leading into the Monster Energy Open and would love nothing more than to celebrate for the first time in Charlotte Motor Speedway’s Victory Lane. And a win Saturday would make him the fourth driver to win the All-Star race before earning a regular season trophy. His teammate, fan favorite Chase Elliott has been close in three previous All-Star starts but is looking for his first victory in the race as well.

Chip Ganassi Racing driver Kyle Larson didn’t qualify for the All-Star race because he was winless in 2018 for the first time in three years so he’s eager to press the gas and advance from the Monster Energy Open as is Stewart-Haas Racing’s Daniel Suarez, who like Larson, has a runner-up finish in the All-Star race but no trophy. He won the Monster Energy Open in 2017 and last year finished advanced to All-Star race after winning a stage in the Open; he ultimately finished second to Harvick by a scant 0.325-second in the main event.

Then there’s Kyle Busch, the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race winner, who leads all active drivers in laps led (256) in the race, but has only that one victory. He’s coming off his first sub-10th-place finish – 30th in Kansas last week – and extremely eager to regain form. His Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Martin Truex Jr. is one of eight drivers in Saturday night’s field that’s never won the All-Star race. He’s only had a pair of top-10 finishes in eight All-Star starts, yet turned in the most dominant Coca-Cola 600 showing in history three years ago leading 392 of the race’s 400 laps.

Team Penske’s Brad Keselowski picked up his third victory of the season last weekend at Kansas Speedway – tying him with Kyle Busch for most wins on the year. But the 2012 Monster Energy Series champion is a surprising 0-for-10 in the All-Star race with six top-10 finishes. Twice he’s finished runner-up (2012, 2016).

The only newcomer already qualified for the Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race is JGR’s Erik Jones, who earned a position by virtue of his win in the 2018 Daytona summer race.

“I missed it the last two years so it’s nice to actually be in it this year and have a shot to race for it,” Jones said. “I’m excited for that. “I’ve been sitting on my couch back home watching it. It’s great.

“I love this month coming up just being at home for a couple weeks and not having to get a on a plane and travel. You get a lot of friends and family that come and stay in town and that’s always fun.

“A million bucks? Who doesn’t want to win that? It’s a great race. You look at the history of it and some of the shows that have been put on at a that race and it’s something that I think we all look forward to as a driver to have an opportunity to go and compete in.”

Potentially four additional drivers will join that field of 15, advancing out of Monster Energy Open – held at 6 p.m. just prior to the All-Star event. This 50-lap race will be an opportunity for up to four drivers to qualify for the Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race. The three stage winners plus a Fan Vote winner will all move into the All-Star grid.

Ryan Newman is the only driver to ever transfer from the Monster Energy Open and go on to win the All-Star race (2002). Kasey Kahne is the only driver to win the Fan Vote and go on to win the All-Star race (2008).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.